Diet in Allergy: what are the names of hidden allergens. The essence of the diagnostic and elimination diet for allergies

A food Allergy occurs at the time when the immune system of the body fails and marks food ingredient (usually a protein) as a threat and creates a defense system (special compounds called antibodies) from him.

Allergic reaction occurs in this moment of struggle of the antibody with the «invading» protein food.

The person may need to diet if you are allergic to any component of the food, but the most common intolerance to the following products:

• milk;

• eggs;

• fish;

• shellfish;

• peanuts;

• nuts (often cashews and walnuts);

• wheat;

• soy.

Diagnostic diet for allergies

For the diagnosis of food Allergy doctors often recommend temporarily eliminating certain foods from the diet. This method in combination with blood tests or skin tests may be useful in the diagnosis of IgE-mediated food Allergy and related diseases (for example, bowel problems, asthma or rheumatoid arthritis).

Diagnostic diet is done under the supervision of an experienced specialist and lasts from two to four weeks. Usually first eliminate wheat products, dairy products, corn, soy, citrus, eggs, fish, nuts, chocolate, caffeine, alcohol and artificial food additives (MSG, sulfites and food dyes).

While the patient avoids the use of potentially dangerous products, the doctor observes the symptoms. If one or more of these products cause allergies, the symptoms should disappear by the end of this period.

In some cases doctors adjust the types and quantity of products, gradually introducing and alternating the diet of the patient (for example, 1 every four days). If symptoms return at the use of one or more products, the allergen was found.

Diet always gives 100% result to diagnose, and in some cases requires additional surveys.

When the allergen is found which diet for allergies patient expects

Acute attacks of allergies a patient to eat do not give. Only the drinking. When the allergen is identified, the doctor will begin to enter into the diet gradually of the least allergenic foods. First and foremost, it is lamb meat, apples, pears-most legumes (except peanuts), rice and other cereals without gluten. In the end, elimination diet for allergies greatly facilitates the patient’s life.

Diet if you are allergic to milk

Milk Allergy is often called lactose intolerance, which is totally wrong. Usually the latter does not pose a serious danger to humans, but only gives him discomfort like bloating, cramps, colic or diarrhoea. Under Allergy understand the sharp reactions to the milk protein casein. Manifestations of this Allergy is serious enough from abundant rash and itching to anaphylactic shock.

If lactose intolerant people can take dairy products with reduced content, for the allergic any of the following products can be fatal:

• milk (including skimmed, condensed and dry milk);

• cream;

• buttermilk

• yogurt;

• kefir;

• fermented baked milk;

• cream cheese;

• sour cream;

• cheese, cheese powder or cheese sauce;

• butter, spread, margarine;

• cottage cheese;

• whey from whey.

Foods containing milk (dairy products):

• casseroles;

• chocolate and candy;

• cream for coffee;

• baking;

• custard and butter cream;

• nougat;

• ice cream;

• puddings;

• white sauces.

As «hiding» the milk on the product labels:

• lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate;

• lactoglobulin;

• casein, Caseinate, sodium Caseinate, calcium Caseinate, magnesium Caseinate, potassium Caseinate;

• lactose (milk sugar).

Casein is used in many products as food additives – you can find it, including in chewing gum, meat, and sausage. If the label says «contains milk», this does not mean that the product will be casein. Soy and almond cheeses may contain this allergen. Carefully read the labels.

Unfortunately, the diet if you are allergic to milk and excludes any dairy products. To replace the flavour you can use appeared on the market a dairy-free ice cream, cheese and yogurt, and chocolate (for dessert).

With dairy products in the human body gets plenty of calcium and vitamin D. in total abstinence from milk to add to the diet of more green vegetables (broccoli, spinach, etc.), and soy products.

Eggs

Most egg Allergy in young children, but are suffering from it and adults. If it is suspected that the reaction to eggs, it is necessary to exclude from the diet of eggs and any products with their content.

Main groups of products containing eggs or egg powder:

• breadcrumbs;

• cupcakes;

• cookie;

• some types of purees (especially quick cooking);

• candy;

• pies and many flour baking;

• rolls;

• donuts;

• egg noodles;

• marshmallow, soufflé;

• the pudding;

• egg sauces (hollandaise, mayonnaise, tartare);

• meringues;

• ice cream;

• fish or meat products fried;

• waffles.

Which substances should not be included in the product bought in the store (read the labels), if you are allergic to eggs:

• albumin

• globulin

• ovalbumin;

• ovomucin;

• epavirallinen;

• ovovitellin;

• livetin;

• fosvitin;

• fat substitutes.

Eggs – a staple in the diet of modern man. They are present in the majority of prepared foods, so people with egg Allergy have especially hard. Diet if you are allergic to eggs are prepared very carefully, from the exclude menu, muffin, many sauces, sweets, fast food, and closely related to the selection in the store of finished products.

Peanuts

One of the most common food allergens recognized as the world’s peanuts. Allergic to it is very dangerous and potentially fatal.

Kind sold by peanuts:

• peanut butter is cold pressed;

• peanut butter (paste);

• flour from peanuts.

What foods may contain peanuts:

• nut mixture;

• ground nuts;

• nougat;

• national selection of Chinese, Thai, African and other cuisines;

• cakes, biscuits and pastries;

• marzipan;

• a candy;

• the egg rolls.

In the finished product peanuts can «hide» under the name «hydrolyzed vegetable protein».

Due to the potential risk of allergic reactions need to completely eliminate foods with a minimum probability content of peanuts.

Nuts

There is a risk of cross contamination substances in the processing of nuts in foods, so many allergists recommend that people with Allergy to only one kind of nuts to abstain from all products of this type.

Nuts, which can be dangerous for people with this kind of Allergy:

• almonds;

• walnuts;

• cashew nuts;

• hazelnut;

• pine nuts;

• pistachios;

• pecans;

• Brazil nuts;

• macadamia nuts.

The main products of nuts:

• marzipan or almond paste;

• nougat;

• artificial nuts;

• aromatic nut oils (e.g. almond oil);

• oil;

• nut paste;

• extracts (e.g. almond extract).

All these and many other products for patients with allergies to nuts is forbidden to eat.

Unfortunately, only omitting nuts from the diet, you cannot be absolutely sure of security. Be careful: sometimes coconut oil is used in shampoos and other cosmetics (to study composition).

Fish

The protein in meat of different fish species can be very similar in their chemical composition. Therefore, you might have to give up all kinds of fish and products containing fish protein (only if the allergist cannot determine the specific form).

Foods that contain «hidden» fish:

• «Caesar»salad;

• Worcestershire sauce;

• caviar;

• artificial seafood.

People allergic to fish protein must not only carefully study the composition of the products from the store, but also to refrain from ordering seafood in food service. In a dish, such as shrimp, fish can get protein with working tools in the kitchen (blades, sieve or grill), which serves all the seafood. Some restaurants use the same oil for frying shrimp, chicken and French fries.

Soy products

Soybeans are increasingly used in manufactured foods. Many breads, crackers, cereals, milk substitutes, soups, sauces, and sausages or other meat products contain highly allergenic soy. In addition to soy, there are many species of the legume family, which an allergic reaction is quite rare – beans, peas, chickpeas, lentils, black beans, Navy beans, and others. People who are allergic to soybeans you have to be careful with other legumes, but the reaction usually does not apply to them.

Find contained in soy products by names:

• hydrolyzed soy protein;

• hydrolyzed vegetable protein;

• isolated soy protein (ISP);

• textured vegetable protein (TVP);

• soy protein;

• soy flour;

• soy grits;

• soy nuts;

• soy milk;

• soy sprouts;

• isolated vegetable protein.

Doctors recommend the complete exclusion of soy from the diet of people with allergies. Fortunately, you have something to replace.

Wheat

Patients who are allergic to wheat and all its derivatives have probably the most difficult.

Diet for a wheat Allergy involves the complete exclusion of the following products:

• wheat flour of all varieties;

• wheat;

• semolina;

• wheat starch and modified;

• bran;

• wheat malt.

On internal consultation the doctor will tell you more about derivatives of wheat that can cause an allergic reaction. As for the names in finished products that people with wheat allergies need to beware of:

• gluten;

• jelatinizirovanny starch;

• hydrolyzed vegetable protein;

• wheat bran;

• wheat germ;

• wheat gluten;

• dextrin;

• flavor «Caramel»;

• extracts, including vanillin.

Wheat flour contain many foods, including sauces and even ice cream. If the finished product has the ingredient «gluten» allergies to wheat this product is prohibited.

Hypoallergenic sample menu

After the relief of the first attack of allergies and suspected food allergen a patient is forbidden to eat, and in severe cases, even drinking. Fasting applies for the first day. The second day, depending on the suspect product, it is possible to eat Allergy-free products in minimum quantities.

The following are the approximate menu of a diet for allergies that can be used allergies.

Breakfast: buckwheat porridge with sugar and one pear, tea.

Lunch: salted rice noodles with olive oil, steam cutlets of veal with herbs, stewed fruit.

Dinner: stew of veal, potatoes, cabbage and onions, tea.

As a snack fit Apple, rice and corn flakes, buckwheat or rice crackers, currant, light sweet cherry varieties, banana.

Gradually added to the diet other foods and watch the reaction. In the end, the patient is elimination diet, which he will adhere or during flare-UPS, refraining from a number of seasonal products, or for life.

Before independently to substantially change your diet, you need to consult with your doctor. You may have to replace a missing biological product Supplement or vitamin complex.